Latest News In English

  • Hon. Speaker, Lord Tu'ivakano (Middle), Dean of the Zhejiang Ocean University, Mr. Wu Changwen (2nd to the left) & Toni Chen (Tonga Commissioner for Trade & Tourism, Guangdong Province (2nd to the left).
  • Dean Mr. Wu Changwen (2nd to the left) & Speaker, Lord Tu'ivakano (3rd to the left)

TOURISM was amongst top priority areas of talks between Tonga and China during a recent bilateral trade and investment trip led by Lord Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Tonga, Lord Tu’ivakano to Zhoushan City in China. 

From: Pacific Leadership Programme Facebook page

THE Legislative Assembly of Tonga can be isolated if they do not relate to the international community on human rights issues for good governance.


  • (L-R)Chairman of the Agricultural & Fisheries Standing Committee Vili Hingano (far right) & Minister of Internal Affairs, Hon. Fe'ao Vakata (second to the left), Penisimani Fifita (Tongatapu 9 MP) (third to the right) and Members of the Young Farmers Federation Ltd (YFFL).
  • papaya plantation
  • Hon. Fe'ao Vakata, Penisimani Fifita, Vili Hingano & Koloti Seluini (YFFL)
  • papaya

TO inform Members of the Agricultural and Fisheries Standing Committee of the Legislative Assembly on ways to boost the agricultural sector is the purpose of a one day subject briefing for the MPs last week.

THE Legislative Assembly of Tonga today elected Tongatapu 2 constituency MP, Semisi Sika as the new Chairperson of the Whole House Committee for the 2015-2018 parliamentary term.

Mr. Sika was nominated by Ha'apai 13 constituency MP, Veivosa Taka.
No other nomination was put forward.

THE Legislative Assembly of Tonga today elected Tongatapu 1 MP, ‘Akilisi Pohiva as the new Prime Minister of Tonga.

15 parliamentarians voted in favour of Mr. Pohiva while 11 voted for Vava’u 16 MP, Samiu Kuita Vaipulu.

Pohiva is the first commoner to become Tonga’s PM under the new political reform that was implemented in 2010.

The House also elects Tongatapu number 3 Noble Representative, Lord Tu’ivakano as the new Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

Lord Tu’ivakano won the hearts of 15 MPs while 11 voted for Lord Tu’i’afitu and he became his Deputy.

Meanwhile the House is scheduled to reconvene on January 20 that is within six weeks after the return of election writs to the King.

The new PM and the rest of MPs will take their oath before the Legislative Assembly.


Go to top