THE 2014 general election saw five incumbent People's Representatives to Parliament retaining their seats and 12 new incoming MPs to serve for the 2015-2018 parliamentary term.

The longest serving MP ‘Akilisi Pohiva retained his seat for Tongatapu 1 constituency winning 1482 votes. That being 51 percent of the voters’ turnout for that constituency.

Semisi Sika won 1091 votes and remained Tongatapu 2's MP.

Former Finance and National Planning Minister ‘Aisake Eke is the winning candidate for Tongatapu 5 with 1682 votes. That being 58 percent of the voters’ turnout for that constituency.

Deputy Prime Minister Samiu Vaipulu secured his seat for Vava’u 15 constituency with 727 votes - a 203 difference with first runner up Tomifa Paea.

Public Enterprises Minister Fe’ao Vakata was reelected again as the Niuas’ Representative to Parliament with 519 votes. That is equivalent to 50 percent of the voters’ turnout for that constituency.

Meanwhile voters in Tongatapu replaced the parliamentarians for Tongatapu 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 constituencies.

The new comers include the winning candidate for Tongatapu 3 electorate Siaosi Sovaleni a former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Ministry of Public Enterprises.

Editor of Kele’a newspaper Mateni Tapueluelu secured his seat for Tongatapu 4  constituency with 783 votes defeating the outgoing MP ‘Isileli Pulu who had 570 votes.

Tonga Airports Limited (TAL) Accountant Poasi Tei took the Tongatapu 6 constituency seat with 1096. Tei replaces Siosifa Tu’utafaiva.

An independent candidate and law practitioner Vuna Fa’otusia obtained 822 votes to secure Tongatapu 7 seat that was formerly held by Sangster Saulala.

A former civil servant Semisi Fakahau with 1016 votes won the seat for Tongatapu 8 constituency. Fakahau replaces the former MP for Tongatapu 8 Sione Taione.

Tongatapu 9 voters replaced Falisi Tupou with new MP Penisimani Fifita who won 679 votes as opposed to 570 votes of the outgoing MP.

Auditor General Pohiva Tu’i’onetoa won the hearts of Tongatapu 10 electorate with 1402 votes replacing former MP Semisi Tapueluelu.

‘Eua voters also voted in favour of former civil servant Tevita Lavemaau who won 760 votes a 50 margin from the former MP Sunia Fili.

Election results for Ha’apai saw two new winning candidates. Manuopangai Hingano took the Ha’apai 12 seat in Parliament with 535 votes, being just three votes away from the former MP Mo’ale Finau.

The polling in Ha’apai 13 saw Veivosa Takataka with the majority vote of 823.

A new comer but a former MP ‘Etuate Lavulavu secured his seat for Vava’u 14 replacing Dr. Viliami Latu.

Vava’u 16 voters elected an independent candidate who is a medical practitioner Dr Saia Piukala as their new MP to Parliament replacing the former parliamentarian Lisiate ‘Akolo.

Meanwhile the Paati  Temokalati ‘Otu Motu Anga’ofa (PTOA) won eight of the 17 People’s Representatives’ seats in Parliament. That includes Tongatapu 1 ‘Akilisi Pohiva, Tongatapu 2 Semisi Sika, Tongatapu 4 - Mateni Tapueluelu, Tongatapu 8 -Semisi Fakahau, Tongatapu 9 - Penisimani Fifita, Tongatapu 10 - Pohiva Tu’i’onetoa, Eua 11 – Tevita Lavemaau, Ha’apai 13 – Veivosa Takataka.


Tongatapu 1:

‘Akilisi 1482 (votes)

Tongatapu 2
Semisi sika (1091)

Tongatapu 3
Siaosi Sovaleni (999)

Tongatapu 4
Mateni Tapueluelu (783)

Tongatapu 5
‘Aisake Eke (1682)

Tongatapu 6
Poasi Tei (1036)

Tongatapu 7
Vuna Fa'otusia 822)

Tongatapu 8
Semisi fakahau (1016)

Tongatapu 9
Penisimani Fifita (679)

Tongatapu 10
Pohiva Tu’i’onetoa (1402)

‘Eua 11:
Tevita Lavemaau (760)

Ha’apai 12:
Viliami Manuopangai Hingano (535)

Ha’apai 13:
Veivosa Takataka (823)

Vava’u 14:
Saia Piukala (1232)

Vava’u 15:
Samiu Vaipulu (727)

Vava’u 16:
'Etuate Lavulavu (767)

Niua 17:
Fe’ao Vakata (519)

Go to top